Shady Pines

Thelma’s gone to Shady Pines Sanatorium for Shattered Social Workers for a few days R&R.  And I’ve come away too for a few days R&R. Funny, that.

When I first mentioned to my OH that I was thinking I may need to get away, I was in the midst of an employment dispute, but could just about see the end in sight, thanks to the wonderful Acas and my superb solicitor. At that point I just wanted everything to stop: the stress, the e-mails, the phone calls, the meetings, the lies, the mularkey.

And now it has stopped.  Huzzah!

And here I am, in the middle of nowhere, on my own for 3 nights.  I’ve never been away on my own before.  I previously lived on my own for years. But I’ve never been on holiday on my own.  It’s quite odd.  And quiet. So quiet. I’m trying to make the most of it. I’ve got my camera with me. My beautiful retro Fuji full of dials and a proper viewfinder. And books, lots of books.  Settling to anything though, even sleep, is proving quite a challenge.

It is precisely because it is a challenge, that I know it was the right thing to do.  I need some recovery time.  I am so lucky to have the opportunity to get away completely and indulge in some self care. I know when I return, it will be with renewed energy.

So, thanks Prosecco Sue, and see you very soon, with love from Thelma x

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

take2mumsworld

Random musings mostly on adoption. Trying to re-parent therapeutically, while still clinging to my remaining shreds of sanity.

Leave a Reply

