Things that matter

My current situation has found me reflecting  about what really matters. This isn’t a ‘what would you rescue if your house was on fire?’ question.  It’s more of an ‘at the end of your life are you going to be content about the way you have conducted it?’ sort of question. We’ve all done it. You, me, the person on the Clapham omnibus. And we have all reached our conclusions. 

This is my blog. And this is my conclusion.

Respect, human connection, love, justice, doing your best, standing up for what you believe is right. These are the things that matter to me.

image

I’ve always attempted to speak out about things that matter. I’ve always thought that it is why I remain a social worker.  It is my job to care about and  fight for the rights and needs of people I work with. Our adoption journey has offered me a personal illustration of what people have to do to get the services they need. I know how tough it can be.

I’m  being bullied at work. Of this I have no doubt. So I’m speaking out about it. I’m  fighting back. In this process I’ve  realised that I’m fighting back because I matter. I matter as much as my children, my partner, and my ‘clients’ and their families.

It’s very liberating realising this! So I thank you Little Bullies. Your intention may have been to free yourselves of a challenging member of staff. The effect, however, has been and will continue to be, very different. 

Published by

take2mumsworld

Random musings mostly on adoption. Trying to re-parent therapeutically, while still clinging to my remaining shreds of sanity.

Leave a Reply

